Earthbound — In Dialogue with Nature
Artists

Sissel Marie Tonn & Jonathan Reus

«The Intimate Earthquake Archive», 2016 - ongoing

Sissel Marie Tonn’s interactive installation The Intimate Earthquake Archive allows us, via waistcoats equipped with sensors, to experience man-made earthquakes caused by gas drilling in the Dutch province of Groningen over the last 34 years. Tonn employs data from numerous archives, including the digital database of the Netherlands Meteorological Institute, where all seismic activity is registered and archived. Visitors wearing the specifically designed waistcoats receive information from these records by standing between a series of radio-transmitting cores. Each transmits the record of one of the 12 strongest man-made earthquakes, translating archival data into sound vibrations through direct manipulation. The resulting compositions stimulate “deep listening” in the body. By connecting digitised seismic activity with the sentient species, the installation allows us to experience the physical effects of man-made geological changes.

Sissel Marie Tonn (DK) uses her artistic practice to explore the complex ways in which people perceive, interact, and connect with their environment. Her hybrid, interactive installations and objects invite the audience to engage with stories and data in a sensory and participatory manner. Tonn studied film and media studies and graduated with a Masters degree in Artistic Research from the Royal Academy of Arts in The Hague. Her work has been exhibited internationally and she has received several grants and awards. Together with Jonathan Reus and Flora Reznik, she is co-founder of the artist initiative Platform for Thought in Motion. Sissel Marie Tonn lives and works in The Hague.

Warning:
The Intimate Earthquake Archive uses embedded sensors that vibrate through electromagnetic currents. We caution visitors who are sensitive to vibrations or electromagnetic radiation (e.g. have a pacemaker) that participation is at their own risk.

Earthbound — In Dialogue with Nature
Artists

Sissel Marie Tonn & Jonathan Reus

«The Intimate Earthquake Archive», 2016 - ongoing

Die interaktive Installation The Intimate Earthquake Archive von Sissel Marie Tonn lässt uns die von Menschen in den letzten 34 Jahren durch Gasbohrungen verursachten Erdbeben in der niederländischen Provinz Groningen mittels mit Sensoren ausgestatteter Westen am eigenen Körper erleben. Tonn durchforstete zahlreiche Archive und nutzt in ihrer Arbeit die digitale Datenbank des Niederländischen Meteorologischen Instituts, das sämtliche seismischen Aktivitäten registriert und archiviert. Die Besucher:innen können Aufnahmen daraus erkunden, indem sie sich mit den tragbaren Westen zwischen eine Reihe von funkübertragenden Bohrkernen stellen. Jede von ihnen sendet den Datensatz eines der 12 stärksten von Menschen verursachten Erdbeben. Die Archivdaten werden durch direkte Manipulation in Klangvibrationen übersetzt. Die daraus resultierenden Kompositionen sollen zu einem «tiefen Hören» im Körper anregen. Die Installation versucht, die digitalisierte seismische Aktivität mit dem fühlenden Organismus zu verbinden. Sie wird zu einem Experiment, bei dem wir erfahren, wie vom Menschen verursachte, geologische Veränderungen körperlich wahrgenommen werden können.

Sissel Marie Tonn (DK) erforscht in ihrer künstlerischen Praxis die komplexe Art und Weise, wie Menschen ihre Umwelt wahrnehmen, auf sie einwirken und mit ihr verwoben sind. Ihre hybriden, interaktiven Installationen und Objekte laden das Publikum ein, sich auf sinnliche und partizipative Weise mit Geschichten und Daten auseinanderzusetzen. Tonn studierte Film und Medienwissenschaften und schloss mit einem Master in Künstlerischer Forschung an der Königlichen Kunstakademie in Den Haag ab. Ihre Werke wurden international ausgestellt und sie erhielt bereits mehrere Förderungen und Auszeichnungen. Zusammen mit Jonathan Reus und Flora Reznik ist sie Mitbegründerin der Künstlerinitiative Platform for Thought in Motion. Die dänische Künstlerin lebt und arbeitet in Den Haag.

Warnung:
The Intimate Earthquake Archive verwendet eingebettete Sensoren, die durch elektromagnetische Ströme vibrieren. Besucher:innen, die empfindlich auf Vibrationen oder elektromagnetische Strahlung reagieren (z. B. aufgrund von Herzschrittmachern), nehmen auf eigene Gefahr teil.