Earthbound — In Dialogue with Nature
Artists

About

The exhibition presents works by internationally renowned artists that reflect on and draw attention to urgent environmental issues with an emphasis on the complex relationship be-tween human activity and the ecosystem. Earthbound – In Dialogue with Nature proposes solutions and alternative models for a more sustainable coexistence with our environment.

Almost every day, we are confronted with drastic images of extreme weather phenomena such as floods, hurricanes and forest fires caused by extreme droughts. Among the more severe environmental issues requiring urgent attention is the accumulation of plastic waste in the oceans, an alarming loss of biodiversity and the mass extinction of species. Global warming is a largely manmade condition, whereby humans are imposing a significant influential force over the biological, geological and atmospheric processes of the Earth.

The exhibition spotlights artists that implement media, technologies and technoscientific methods in their works. Through a creative use of digital media and new technologies – artificial intelligence, virtual reality, interactive and immersive installations, multimedia sculptures and video installations - the audience is invited to engage in critical dialogue, challenging the narrative which positions humankind at the heart of creation. We are encouraged to surrender egocentric perspectives we have towards the planet and rediscover our relationship with nature.

Several exhibited works navigate an interdisciplinary approach, exploring collaborations between artists and scientists from a variety of scientific fields like geology, meteorology and oceanography. The exhibiting artists do not position technology as a guarantee for a better future, with the assumption that a purely technology solution can save the planet. Instead, they employ technology as a tool for enlightening the otherwise invisible ecological processes and thereby aim to contribute to a healthier coexistence with our environment. Hence the title of the exhibition: Earthbound. We only have one Earth and urgently need to find paths to a more balanced coexistence – escaping to other planets is not an option.

The exhibition was created upon invitation from Esch2022 – European Capital of Culture, located in the south of Luxembourg. It is housed within the Möllerei, the premises of the former raw materials warehouse in Esch Belval, where it was on display from June 4th till August 14th 2022. An expanded version of the exhibition is shown in Basel, presenting several new perspectives: shown for the first time are recent works by James Bridle and Robertina Sebjanič as well as new productions by Ursula Endlicher. As part of the exhibition, HEK is also presenting the interdisciplinary design research project MITWELTEN. Medienökologische Infrastrukturen für Biodiversität by the Academy or Art and Design FHNW.

Accompanying the Esch2022 – European Capital of Culture exhibition is a comprehensive catalogue featuring the works as well as academic contributions on the themes of sustainability, nature and diversity. In autumn, a magazine produced in cooperation with the Institute of Art Gender Nature at the Academy of Art and Design FHNW will be published under the title Coding Care –Towards a Technology for Nature, featuring a compilation of theoretical explorations of the meaningful use of technologies for a better understanding of our ecosystem.

Curators:
Sabine Himmelsbach
and Boris Magrini
with the support of Yulia Fisch

Earthbound — In Dialogue with Nature
Artists

À propos de l'exposition

Cette exposition collective internationale présente des oeuvres d’artistes contemporain·e·s de renommée qui traitent de questions environnementales urgentes et, en particulier, mettent en lumière la relation complexe entre les activités humaines et l’écosystème. Elle propose des solutions et des modèles alternatifs de cohabitation durable avec notre environnement.

Inondations, ouragans, incendies forestiers causés par la sècheresse: les images dramatiques de phénomènes météorologiques extrêmes nous parviennent presque quotidiennement. La pollution des océans par des amas de plastique, l’appauvrissement de la biodiversité et l’extinction de certaines espèces comptent parmi les problèmes graves que nous devons résoudre. Le réchauffement de la planète continue sa course et les faits prouvent qu’il est en grande partie provoqué par l’humain. Notre activité constitue en effet désormais l’un des principaux facteurs d’influence sur les conditions biologiques, géologiques et atmosphériques terrestres.

L’exposition est consacrée aux pratiques artistiques qui ont recours aux médias, aux technologies et aux méthodes technoscientifiques. L’utilisation créative des médias numériques et des nouvelles technologies – intelligence artificielle, réalité virtuelle, installations interactives et immersives, sculptures multimédias et installations vidéo – invite le public à une réflexion critique, remet en question l’anthropocentrisme de la création et nous invite à abandonner notre perspective égocentrique sur cette planète, pour redécouvrir notre relation avec la nature.

La plupart des oeuvres présentées sont le fruit d’une approche interdisciplinaire et d’une collaboration entre des artistes et des scientifiques de différents domaines, de la géologie à la météorologie en passant par l’océanographie. Les artistes de l’exposition n’envisagent pas la technologie comme la garantie d’un avenir «meilleur», en considérant qu’il s’agit d’une solution prodigieuse pour sauver la planète, mais plutôt comme un moyen de nous faire prendre conscience des processus écologiques invisibles et de nous aider à mieux vivre avec notre environnement. Voilà pourquoi nous avons choisi le titre Earthbound. La Terre est unique, nous devons par conséquent trouver le moyen de parvenir à un vivre-ensemble équilibré.

L’exposition a vu le jour sur invitation d’Esch2022 – Capitale européenne de la culture dans le sud du Luxembourg, où elle a été présentée du 5 juin au 14 août 2022 à la Möllerei, ancien entrepôt de matières premières à Esch-Belval. Pour son installation à Bâle, l’exposition sera étoffée et de nouvelles contributions seront présentées: on y retrouvera des oeuvres récentes de James Bridle et Robertina Sebjanič, ainsi que de nouvelles productions d’Ursula Endlicher et Dominique & Fabian Koch, qui seront exposées pour la première fois. Dans ce contexte, la HEK présente également le projet de recherche interdisciplinaire de design « MITWELTEN. Media Ecological Infrastructures for Biodiversity » de la Hochschule für Gestaltung und Kunst FHNW.

Dans le cadre d’Esch2022 – Capitale européenne de la culture, Hatje Cantz publie un catalogue complet qui constitue un recueil des oeuvres de l’exposition, enrichi de contributions scientifiques consacrées aux thématiques de la durabilité, de la nature et de la diversité. À l’automne paraîtra également un magazine intitulé Coding Care –Towards a Technology for Nature: il rassemblera plusieurs contributions théoriques sur l’utilisation pertinente des technologies pour une meilleure compréhension de notre écosystème. Le magazine sera publié en coopération avec l'Institut Kunst Gender Nature de la FHNW.

Commissaires :
Sabine Himmelsbach &
Boris Magrini